PACITA – Technology Assessment across Europe

November 19, 2012

The Danish Board of Technology coordinates the PACITA project – Parliaments and Civil Society in Technology Assessment. The project is financed by EU´s 7th Framework Programme (FP7). The project runs for four years until the end of April 2015. Al together there are 15 partners in the project consortium. In the project well established PTA Institutions as The Danish Board of Technology is cooperating with research institutions from Southern and Eastern European countries that do not have a Parliamentarian Technology Assessment Institution.

The purpose of the PACITA projects is to develop a joint platform for the development and expansion of European Parliamentarian Technology Assessment. Parliamentarian Technology Assessment (PTA) supports democratic decision in relation to new knowledge, technology and innovation in different ways:

  • By producing knowledge about the possibilities and consequences of new technologies
  • By facilitating democratic debate and deliberative processes involving citizens, researchers, experts, NGO´s and private companies
  • And by contributing to the formulation of policy options regarding regulation of new technology, research and innovation.

Thus an important purpose of the project is to initiate dialogue between EU member states about the institutional foundation of Technology Assessment, future methodological development and the democratic potential.

The project will document existing praxis in European Parliamentary Technology Assessment, carry out practitioners training and debate about PTA and initiate the expansion of PTA institutionalisation to new countries. The project also includes three large scale examples projects showcasing Cross European PTA:

  1. Public health and genome research
  2. Tele Medicine and Tele Care for an ageing population
  3. Sustainable consumption

Following European partners are involved:

• Teknologiraadet – Danish Board of Technology (Denmark)
• Karlsruher Institut für Technologie – Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany)
• Rathenau Instituut – The Rathenau Institute (Netherlands)
• Teknologiraadet – Norwegian Board of Technology (Norway)
• Institut für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung – The Institute of Technology Assessment (Austria)
• Applied Research and Communications Fund (Bulgaria)
• Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica – Institute of Technology of Biology and Chemistry (Portugal)
• Fundació Institució Catalana de Suport a la Recerca – Catalan Institution Foundation for Research Support (Catalonia, Spain)
• Zentrum für Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung – Swiss Centre for Technology Assessment (Switzerland)
• Žinių Ekonomikos Forumas – Knowledge Economy Forum (Lithuania)
• Technologické centrum AV ČR – Technology Centre ASCR (Czech Republic)
• Université de Liège, SPIRAL – University of Liège, SPIRAL Research Centre (Wallonia, Belgium)
• Colàiste na hOllscoile Corcaigh – University College Cork (Ireland)
• Magyar Tudományos Akadémia – Hungarian Academy of Sciences (Hungary)